Windows 7 Activation Usability Issue

As my company is partner of Microsoft I have already access to RTM version of Windows 7. I can choose between Professional and Enterprise edition (both in 32 bit and 64 bit versions). I have chosen 64 bit Professional edition for my notebook HP Compaq nw8440. Installation was completed without problems but I was a little surprised that Windows did not want license key. So I suppose that we have prepared some custom image in our company.
 
After installation Windows downloaded driver for graphics card and sound card. Next day I got notification from Windows that activation failed due to DNS error. Maybe some problems with Microsoft's servers who knows? Our administrator was on holiday until end of week and I had following 29 days to repeat activation so, no problem.
 

Windows 7 Activation

 
After one week still same problem. It is quite weird. And the result: Windows was installed with some trial license key and tried to activate with this trial license key. It did not say that it is in trial mode and I have to change license key. It did not ask for change of license key it simply tried to activate. How can I know that I have trial license key if I get this message: "Error Code: 0x8007232B. Description: DNS name does not exist.". Usability is also about error messages and not only about taskbar and management of windows. Please do not forget on that Microsoft for next time.

One thought on “Windows 7 Activation Usability Issue

Leave a Reply

